msgbartop
Web 2.0, eCommerce, SEO, SEM, gadgets, and all that other cool tech stuff.Looking for the Majumdar Family? Tristan, Zachary & Robin ? Click here!
msgbarbottom

07 May 09 Ne clignotez pas vos phares – avertissement de la Sûreté du Québec : hoax & légende urbaine

flash_highbeams_hoax_clignotez_pharesAlors j’ai reçu ce message encore ce matin, pour la 16352772e fois en 6 ans. Ca prétend être un communiqué officiel de la Sûreté du Québec et oui…. C’est une légende urbaine ou, excusez l’anglicisme, un hoax.

Message de la Sureté du Québec
Très important… Très important… Très important…

AVERTISSEMENT DE LA S.Q.
Ne pas clignoter vos phares si vous rencontrez une auto avec les phares éteints. Les policiers du programme DARE ont publié l’avertissement suivant : Si vous ROULEZ le soir et que vous croisez une automobile avec les phares éteints, NE CLIGNOTEZ PAS VOS PHARES. Il peut s’agir d’un rite d’initiation d’un gang nommé ‘BLOODS’. Pour être accepté, le nouveau membre doit conduire une voiture sans ses phares le soir, à la noirceur. La première voiture qui lui signale que ses phares sont éteints en clignotant les siens devient automatiquement sa cible. C’est alors que l’aspirant BLOODS’ doit se retourner et rejoindre la voiture qui a clignoté et qu’il doit viser et tuer tous les individus y prenant place.Voilà les règles d’initiation. Ça se passe surtout les vendredis et samedis soirs. Les postes de polices partout au pays ont été avertis de la situation. Assurez-vous de partager cette info avec vos contacts!

Lise Boutin
Agente de secrétariat
Sûreté du Québec
MRC de Vaudreuil-Soulanges Est
Tél.: (450) 424-1212
Fax: (450) 424-8580

Ca fait le tour maintenant depuis presque 7 ans – voir des modèles de lettres similaires sur HoaxKiller.fr…

Donc, SVP, ne pas faire suivre ce message à l’ensemble de tes contacts – surtout en mettant leurs noms et courriels visibles à tous les destinataires en c.c. …

Tags: , , , , , ,

22 Jan 09 Trojan Blog Comments – “Nothing seems to be easier than seeing someone whom you can help but not helping.”

No Spam AllowedSo, I get a fair number of comments on various articles I write here, and also a fair amount of comment spam (about 100-150 comment spams per day) which Akismet dutifully protects me against 99% of the time. While Akismet is an impressive and highly functional tool – it certainly is not (and should be) the only tool in your arsenal to protect your blog from comment spammers.

WordPress has various mechanisms available to prevent automated (or human) spam bots from overrunning your site. (more…)

Tags: , , , ,

08 Oct 08 Spammers new tactic for WordPress comment spam : start with a “legitimate” comment… hope for WordPress auto-approval for subsequent comments

So I noticed this comment which made it by my spam protection (which include Akismet, amongst other tools and methods)

*******************
*********222@gmail.com | 92.113.xxx.xxx

Recently, my husband started with the potential problem and our relations are deadlocked.
After all, I love sex … I encouraged him to go to the doctor, and he is afraid.
Maybe someone who will help us, tell of impotence pills and where to buy them anonymously. In advance thank you to all who help!
Sorry if in the wrong section leave a message!

Now a couple of things;

  • The comment contains no extreme terms that would have it flagged by spam detection systems, other than sex and impotence pills, which are not exactly like the v**gr* or c**l*s ones… not….
  • There are zero hyperlinks in the comment, nor in the Author URL field….
  • The user left a reasonably realistic “real-person” type name and realistic looking gmail address with the comment (comment author emails are never revealed except if the commenter puts it in their comment)….
  • So what’s wrong ?

    Well…. first of all, the comment was left on one of my articles discussion phpFox… not exactly relevant to be “requesting” information about ED pills.

    In addition, this is my tech site, so it’s highly unlikely that I’ll be discussing sexual dysfunction solution providers (unless they have a unique technical or business model pis encore la!) …. so.

    Spamkilled.

    Why did the spammer (or spambot) try this ? Because they try to hope that the blog owner will approve this initial comment since it contains no hyperlinks, no crass spammy message…. and also hope that the blog owner has set his WordPress blog to auto-approve comments from authors with a previously approved comment….

    Nice try folks.

    Tags: , , ,

    02 Apr 08 Black Hat SEO Forum Syndk8 announces scheduled forum downtime

    Well – just a heads up to my black hat umm…. friends and associates that Syndk8 will be down for some scheduled maintenance; it is extremely rare that I’ve seen Syndk8 announce any sort of downtime, so it must be for some serious and significant site upgrades (or fixes).

    For those wondering, Syndk8 is a black hat SEO (search engine optimization) forum for those who prefer to do their Internet business in a more… err, ruthless way ? Not that I condone or recommend it. Keep in mind that the best White Hat hackers have to keep in touch with what’s up on the dark side.

    ;)

    —–Original Message—–
    From: Syndk8 Black Hat Seo Forum [mailto:noreply@syndk8.net]
    Sent: April 2, 2008 5:37 PM
    To: **************
    Subject: New announcement: Syndk8 Scheduled Downtime Sometime Soon.

    Hey Everybody

    I need to make some important changes over the next few days to allow for the future growth and development of Syndk8.

    You may see a blank page or a timeout for a few hours.

    Please be patient and come back a few hours later.

    You may need to flush your dns or cache to see the forum when it comes back up.

    If you dont know how to flush your dns use google to find out how.

    Thanks for your patience and best regards.

    Earl Grey rockon

    To unsubscribe from these announcements, login to the forum and uncheck “Receive forum announcements and important notifications by email.” in your profile.

    You can view the full announcement by following this link:

    http://syndk8.net/forum/index.php?topic=16299.0

    Regards,
    The Syndk8 Black Hat Seo Forum Team.

    Tags: , , , , , , ,

    Robin Majumdar technology blog