msgbartop
Web 2.0, eCommerce, SEO, SEM, gadgets, and all that other cool tech stuff.Looking for the Majumdar Family? Tristan, Zachary & Robin ? Click here!
msgbarbottom

02 Apr 08 Black Hat SEO Forum Syndk8 announces scheduled forum downtime

Well – just a heads up to my black hat umm…. friends and associates that Syndk8 will be down for some scheduled maintenance; it is extremely rare that I’ve seen Syndk8 announce any sort of downtime, so it must be for some serious and significant site upgrades (or fixes).

For those wondering, Syndk8 is a black hat SEO (search engine optimization) forum for those who prefer to do their Internet business in a more… err, ruthless way ? Not that I condone or recommend it. Keep in mind that the best White Hat hackers have to keep in touch with what’s up on the dark side.

;)

—–Original Message—–
From: Syndk8 Black Hat Seo Forum [mailto:noreply@syndk8.net]
Sent: April 2, 2008 5:37 PM
To: **************
Subject: New announcement: Syndk8 Scheduled Downtime Sometime Soon.

Hey Everybody

I need to make some important changes over the next few days to allow for the future growth and development of Syndk8.

You may see a blank page or a timeout for a few hours.

Please be patient and come back a few hours later.

You may need to flush your dns or cache to see the forum when it comes back up.

If you dont know how to flush your dns use google to find out how.

Thanks for your patience and best regards.

Earl Grey rockon

To unsubscribe from these announcements, login to the forum and uncheck “Receive forum announcements and important notifications by email.” in your profile.

You can view the full announcement by following this link:

http://syndk8.net/forum/index.php?topic=16299.0

Regards,
The Syndk8 Black Hat Seo Forum Team.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

25 Mar 08 Google AdWords account phishing attempt from frje8fdj.cn / adwords.google.com.frje8fdj.cn

Well this is a new one for me: A phishing attempt trying to extract one (or more) of my Google AdWords accounts by getting me to sign in… the URL in the phishing email quoted below shows as http://adwords.google.com/select/login in the email, but a careful mouse-over shows that the actual target URL is http://adwords.google.com.frje8fdj.cn/select/Login/ …

The only other reference to the frje8fdj.cn is over at phishtank.com – and phishtank members (yes, I am one) have confirmed it as obviously being an AdWords phishing attempt. PhishTank has a great interface that actually shows what the target page looks like.

In this case it is a very convincing AdWords login page… now, some may think that stealing and AdWords SEM account is not great theft, but consider that some AdWords accounts may be tied to high credit limits and at the very least, they could use your account to drive traffic to their other sites… with you left holding the bill!

No the above is not phishing, it’s a direct link to Google. :)

From: Google AdWords [mailto:reactivation@google.com]
Sent: March 25, 2008 7:24 AM
To: [email suppressed]
Subject: Please Update Your Billing Information

This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
——————————————————————————–

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Please sign in to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login , and update your billing information.
Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information.
Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit
or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive
your signed debit authorization before your ads start running,
depending on your location.
If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your
first payment.

We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,

———————————————————————————-

The Google AdWords Team

Tags: , , , ,

24 Mar 08 Timothy Sykes of BloggingStocks reflects on $30K/month bloggers John Chow and Jeremy Schoemaker

Timothy Sykes published an interesting article and brief interview with John Chow. Jeremy and John have shown that the democratisation of the communications medium can be exploited by the lowly individual.

Not only can an individual person gain viral readership and reach to a market, but they can actually monetize the whole effort. John Chow even got penalized and banned from Google for using somewhat black-hat SEO techniques … but quickly and coyly turned the normally disastrous banning into simply more content for his entertaining writings in his Live by The Google, Die by the Google series.

It’s important to note that both John Chow and Jeremy Schoemaker had significant business experience in the tech/.com space prior to becoming (in)famous bloggers with 5 figure monthly revenue streams.

John Chow runs TTZ Media, and Jeremy is somewhat of a serial entrepeneur with recent major .com hits such as AuctionAds.com – which he sold off last year and is now known as ShoppingAds. AA was a brilliant way of leveraging the eBay affiliate program and it’s sliding scale revenue model that rewarded higher volume affiliates. Jeremy basically built a more friendly user interface to the eBay affiliate program, paid out 100% of the usual eBay affiliate commissions to AuctionAds “sub-affiliates” and pocket the increased percentage of revenue that he sent along to eBay.

Brilliant. :)

Tags:

08 Dec 07 DoubleClick Performics Outage due to complete power failure!

A message we received just moments ago explaining the Doubleclick Performics data centre outage earlier today! Hopefully tracking affected will not include revenue loss!! (their statement is pretty vague)…

DoubleClick Performics experienced a system outage due to a complete power failure at our data center at approximately 9:30 a.m. CST on Saturday, Dec. 8, 2007 . While data was protected, the issue affected tracking, links and system availability. Power was restored and tracking and links were operational by approximately 2:30 p.m. CST. The interface experienced intermittent downtime throughout the afternoon but tracking is operational.

We sincerely apologize for this situation. The root cause remains under investigation and updates will be forthcoming as more is known.
DoubleClick Performics

Tags: ,

02 Dec 07 Caroline Allard – la mère indigne – à propos de FaceBook…

Je suis en train de regarder Il va y avoir du sport! et j’adore le débat concernant FaceBook – pour ou contre – et je dois avouer partager l’avis de Mlle Allard le plus parmi les quatre personnes qui dispute le site de réseautage social. Le débat est très intéressant. Caroline est assez bien connue comme étant la mère indigne!

Caroline Allard - souriante !

Chiffre intéressant : 12% des Québécois sont sur FaceBook!

Hmm…

(more…)

Tags:

Robin Majumdar technology blog