msgbartop
Web 2.0, eCommerce, SEO, SEM, gadgets, and all that other cool tech stuff.Looking for the Majumdar Family? Tristan, Zachary & Robin ? Click here!
msgbarbottom

25 Mar 08 Google AdWords account phishing attempt from frje8fdj.cn / adwords.google.com.frje8fdj.cn

Well this is a new one for me: A phishing attempt trying to extract one (or more) of my Google AdWords accounts by getting me to sign in… the URL in the phishing email quoted below shows as http://adwords.google.com/select/login in the email, but a careful mouse-over shows that the actual target URL is http://adwords.google.com.frje8fdj.cn/select/Login/ …

The only other reference to the frje8fdj.cn is over at phishtank.com – and phishtank members (yes, I am one) have confirmed it as obviously being an AdWords phishing attempt. PhishTank has a great interface that actually shows what the target page looks like.

In this case it is a very convincing AdWords login page… now, some may think that stealing and AdWords SEM account is not great theft, but consider that some AdWords accounts may be tied to high credit limits and at the very least, they could use your account to drive traffic to their other sites… with you left holding the bill!

No the above is not phishing, it’s a direct link to Google. :)

From: Google AdWords [mailto:reactivation@google.com]
Sent: March 25, 2008 7:24 AM
To: [email suppressed]
Subject: Please Update Your Billing Information

This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
——————————————————————————–

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Please sign in to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login , and update your billing information.
Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information.
Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit
or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive
your signed debit authorization before your ads start running,
depending on your location.
If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your
first payment.

We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,

———————————————————————————-

The Google AdWords Team

Tags: , , , ,

05 Feb 08 WQB.net – three letter domain name sells for $1,000,100 on eBay – shill alert ;)

Well, while surfing eBay I spotted this auction for WQB.net, which is an OK 3 letter gTLD domain name… but to see that it closed for $1,000,100 after a bidding “war” between 2 members with < 10 positive ratings each...

If true, the biggest (published) 3 letter .net sale that is not a real word.

But I'll let you you at this million dollar 3 letter domain auction and decide for yourselves.

Tags:

19 Dec 07 Here comes another bubble … great video about Bubl 2.x0

Hehehe… merci Mario:

Ah so true, only this time – I’m in and out before

    it bursts…

Tags: ,

18 Dec 07 solvurus.info = spyware site propagating by MSN

Oui, si vous avez des contacts qui vous envoi des liens vers le site www.solvurus.info par MSN Messenger (ou Windows Live Messenger) c’est que leurs ordinateurs sont infectés par un virus.

De plus, www.solvurus.info est un site qui prétends vous permets de savoir qui vous a bloqué sur MSN … mais a condition que vous leur donnez votre compte et mot de passe MSN / Hotmail / Windows Live Messenger… euh.. non merci!

Now in English:

If you have contacts in Windows Live Messenger – or MSN Messenger – sending you links by IM to a site www.solvurus.info .. their machine is infected with a Trojan and propagating virally through their instant messenger. In other words: warn them, and do not click on the links.

In addition, solvurus.info is a site purporting to let you find out who has blocked you on MSN Messenger… as long as you provide them with your MSN / Windows Live Messenger / HotMail credentials … no thanks!

Tags: ,

24 Nov 07 Who is 866-701-8375 on Caller ID ? Don’t telemarket me you mysterious 866 701-8375

So… the CID shows (866) 701-8375 earlier this afternoon and of course… no message left. Sorry, if it is so important that you require my vocal interaction with you – you will leave me a message. ;)

Googling phone numbers is a good thing folks, if you are popular with the telemarketing shooters and cold callers like I am. It just happens that there about 30-35 Google results for 866-701-8375….

If you have deeper info about this number feel free to comment here.

Tags: , ,

Robin Majumdar technology blog